Skip to main content

2022 Young Investigator Award Recipients

  • Dr. Elias Bareinboim, Columbia University
    Causal Reinforcement Learning – Theory, Algorithms, and Applications
    Program Officer: Dr. Behzad Kamgar-Parsi, Machine Learning, Reasoning and Intelligence
  • Dr. Christopher Brinton, Purdue University
    Distributed Intelligence Optimization under Interference in Heterogeneous Resource-Constrained Wireless Systems
    Program Officer: Dr. Trevor Snow, Electronic Warfare
  • Dr. Kerem Camsari, University of California, Santa Barbara
    Scalable Probabilistic Computers for Optimization and Quantum Simulation
    Program Officer: Dr. Ian Appelbaum, Nanoscale Computing Devices and Systems
  • Dr. Jacob Covey, University of Illinois
    Probing Quantum Criticality of a Measurement-Induced Phase Transition with Alkaline Earth Rydberg Atoms
    Program Officer: Dr. Roberto Diener, Quantum Information Science
  • Dr. Morteza Derakhti, University of Washington
    High-Resolution SPH Simulations of Rocky Shores: Understanding and Modeling of Sub-grid Scale Processes in Wave and Hydrodynamic Forecast Models
    Program Officer: Dr. Reginald Beach, Coastal Geosciences
  • Dr. Soheil Feizi, University of Maryland
    Understanding Foundations of Robust Learning
    Program Officer: Dr. Behzad Kamgar-Parsi, Machine Learning, Reasoning and Intelligence
  • Dr. Lauren Garten, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Piezoelectric Enhanced Oxygen Evolution Reaction Catalysts Using Hexagonal Nickelates
    Program Officer: Dr. Wallace Smith, Acoustic Transduction Materials and Devices
  • Dr. Matthew Hale, University Of Florida
    High-Performance Autonomous Behaviors for Next-Generation Naval Systems in Communication-Denied Environments
    Program Officer: Ms. Christine Buzzell, Cooperative Autonomous Swarm Technology (CAST)
  • Dr. Sylvia Herbert, University of California, San Diego
    Constructing and Adapting Control Barrier Functions for Guaranteed Safe Control of Autonomous Systems using Hamilton-Jacobi Reachability
    Program Officer: Mr. Marc Steinberg, Science of Autonomy
  • Dr. Justin Koeln, University of Texas at Dallas
    Hierarchical Nonlinear Control of Integrated Propulsion, Power, and Thermal Management Systems for Naval Aircraft
    Program Officer: Dr. Steven Martens, Power, Propulsion and Thermal Management
  • Dr. Christian Kroer, Columbia University
    Fast Iterative Methods for Large-Scale Game-Theoretic Problems and Beyond
    Program Officer: Dr. David Phillips, Mathematical and Resource Optimization
  • Dr. Aditya Kunjapur, University of Delaware
    Programming Synthetic Auxotrophs to Depend On Breakdown Products of Biodegradable Polymers
    Program Officer: Dr. Kristy Hentchel, Synthetic Biology for Naval Applications
  • Dr. Bolin Liao, University of California, Santa Barbara
    Solid-State Thermal Switching by Controlling Soft Phonons and Crystal Symmetry
    Program Officer: Dr. Mark Spector, Thermal Science and Engineering
  • Dr. Peter McMahon, Cornell University
    Superconducting Electronics Neural Networks for Wideband RF Signal Processing
    Program Officer: Dr. Deborah Van Vechten, Cryogenically Enabled Electronics Technologies for Mixed Signal Systems
  • Dr. Francesco Monticone, Cornell University
    Nonreciprocal Nonmagnetic Thermal Photonics
    Program Officer: Dr. Meredith Hutchinson, Advanced Naval Platforms
  • Dr. Atieh Moridi, Cornell University
    Grand Alloys-A New Strategy for Alloy Design by Combination of Complementary Alloys of a Single Family
    Program Officer: Dr. Jennifer Wolk, Materials & Processes for Additive Manufacturing
  • Dr. Xin Ning, Pennsylvania State University
    Ultralight, Bio-inspired Skeletal-Neuro-Muscular Materials for Intelligent and Modular Morphable Wings
    Program Officer: Dr. Anisur Rahman, Aerospace Structures and Materials
  • Dr. Brian Odegaard, University of Florida
    How Attention and Metacognitive Biases Influence Perceptual Decision-Making in Peripheral Vision
    Program Officer: Ms. Natalie Steinhauser, Cognitive Neuroscience of Perception and Attention
  • Dr. Guido Pagano, Rice University
    Trapped-Ion Quantum Simulation of Open Quantum Systems
    Program Officer: Dr. Roberto Diener, Quantum Information Science
  • Dr. Jeyavijayan Rajendran, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station
    Steel Wool: Next-Generation Hardware Fuzzers
    Program Officer: Dr. Daniel Koller, Cyber Security and Complex Software Systems
  • Dr. Dorsa Sadigh, Stanford University
    Learning, Leveraging, and Influencing Representations for Interactive Autonomy
    Program Officer: Mr. Marc Steinberg, Science of Autonomy
  • Dr. Umberto Saetti, Auburn University
    Linearized High-Fidelity Aeromechanics for Extended Reality Simulation and Control of Shipboard Interactions
    Program Officer: Dr. Brian Holm-Hansen, Flight Dynamics and Control
  • Dr. Kimberly See, California Institute of Technology
    Anion Redox in Metal Sulfide Cathodes for Na-Ion Batteries
    Program Officer: Dr. Joseph Parker, Expeditionary Energy
  • Dr. Banafsheh Seyed-Aghazadeh, University of Massachusetts
    Fluid-Structure Interactions in Highly Flexible Wings; Experimental campaigns and Development of a Fully-Coupled Reduced-Order Model
    Program Officer: Dr. David Gonzalez, Aerodynamics
  • Dr. Chengzhi Shi, Georgia Institute of Technology
    High-speed Underwater Wireless Communication using Acoustic Angular Momentum Multiplexing
    Program Officer: Dr. Fletcher Blackmon, Maritime Sensing
  • Dr. Charles Shields, University of Colorado
    Mapping Immune Cell Responses to High Pressures in Decompression Illness
    Program Officer: Dr. Sandra Chapman, Undersea Medicine and Performance
  • Dr. John Swoboda, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Enabling Volumetric Ionospheric Imaging Using Vector Sensor Ionosondes
    Program Officer Dr. Daniel Eleuterio, Marine Meteorology and Space
  • Dr. Ryan Truby, Northwestern University
    Self-Sensing, Optoelectronic Artificial Muscle Tissues for Energy Efficient Locomotion in Soft Machines
    Program Officer: Dr. Thomas McKenna, Bio-Inspired Autonomous Systems
  • Dr. Haizhao Yang, Purdue University
    Flow-Induced Mathematical Theory for Deep Learning: Bridging the Gap between Theory and Practice
    Program Officer: Dr. Reza Malek-Madani, Applied and Computational Analysis
  • Dr. Suo Yang, University of Minnesota
    Physics-Based Modeling of Multicomponent Transcritical Phase Change and Spray Breakup in High-Pressure Liquid-Fueled Combustors
    Program Officer: Dr. Steven Martens, Power, Propulsion and Thermal Management
  • Dr. Matthew Zahr, University of Notre Dame
    Improved Simulation of Internal and External Hypersonic Flows using High-Order Implicit Shock Tracking
    Program Officer: Dr. Eric Marineau, Hypersonic Aerothermodynamics, High-Speed Propulsion and Materials
  • Dr. Yue Zhou, South Dakota State University
    Development of Structural Batteries with Improved Multifunctional Efficiency for Aerospace Applications
    Program Officer: Dr. Anisur Rahman, Aerospace Structures and Materials