Skip to main content

2013 Young Investigator Award Recipients

Dr. Pieter Abbeel, University of California, Berkeley
Proposal Title: Large-scale Semi-supervised Feature Learning for Robotic Perception and Control

Dr. Riccardo Bevilacqua, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Proposal Title: Measuring Spatio-temporal Variations in Upper Atmosphere via Drag Controlled Nano Satellites and WINCS (Winds-ion-neutral-composition-suite)

Dr. Matthew Collette, University of Michigan
Proposal Title: Stochastic Network Algorithms for Model and Data Fusion in Complex Structural Systems

Dr. Sasan Fathpour, University of Central Florida
Proposal Title: Nonlinear Photonic Devices on Silicon

Dr. Ila Fiete, University of Texas at Austin
Proposal Title: The Interplay of Dynamics and Information Processing in Neural Computation

Dr. Kenan Gundogdu, North Carolina State University
Proposal Title: Diffusion, Relaxation, and Charge Separation Dynamics of Photoexcitations in Semiconductor Polymers

Dr. Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Proposal Title: Quantum Transport and Optoelectronics in Atomically Layered Materials

Dr. Patrick Hopkins, University of Virginia
Proposal Title: Surface Chemistry and Geometry Effects on Nanoscopic Heat Transfer Processes at Solid/Fluid Interfaces

Dr. Zhaowei Liu, University of California, San Diego
Proposal Title: Ultrafast Blue and Green LEDs for Underwater Optical Wireless Communication

Dr. Timothy Lu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Proposal Title: Biologically Inspired Engineering of Underwater Adhesives with Synthetic Biology

Dr. Julius Lucks, Cornell University
Proposal Title: Towards Morse Code for Biology; Engineering RNA Circuitry for Decoding Temporal Information

Dr. Jennifer Pazour, University of Central Florida
Proposal Title: The Design of Responsive Sea-based Logistic Delivery Systems

Dr. Michael Rose, University of Texas at Austin
Proposal Title: A New Hybrid Molecular/Materials Approach to Semiconductor Surface Passivation for Application in a Solar Fuels Device

Dr. Chao Wang, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Proposal Title: Automated Software Model Generation for Identifying and Mitigating Concurrency Vulnerabilities

Dr. Yan Yao, University of Houston
Proposal Title: Developing Multivalent Ion Intercalation Batteries as High Energy and Safe Marine Distributed Power Sources

Dr. Michael Zdilla, Temple University
Proposal Title: Exploration of Energetic Manganese Metal-nitrogen-oxygen Complexes and Clusters

For more information