Skip to main content

2011 Young Investigator Award Recipients

Dr. Hal Alper, The University of Texas at Austin
Proposal Title: Establishing a Fungal Platform for Alkane Biosynthesis

Dr. Nader Behdad, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Proposal Title: Closely Coupled Multi-mode Radiators: A New Concept for Improving the Performance of Electrically Small Antenna

Dr. B. Andrei Bernevig, Princeton University
Proposal Title: New Topological Insulators with Point-group Symmetry

Dr. David M. Blei, Princeton University
Proposal Title: Scalable Topic Modeling: Online Learning, Diagnostics and Recommendation

Dr. William R. Boos, Yale University
Proposal Title: Understanding the Global Distribution of Monsoon Depressions

Dr. Alejandro Briseno, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Proposal Title: Low-dimensional Semiconductor Nanostructures for Organic Photovoltaics

Dr. Joelle Frechette, Johns Hopkins University
Proposal Title: Understanding the Role of Hydrodynamic Forces on Wet Adhesion

Dr. MohammadTaghi Hajiaghayi, University of Maryland, College Park
Proposal Title: Efficient Algorithms for Strategic Problems in Network Design

Dr. Steven Jachec, Florida Institute of Technology
Proposal Title: Acoustic Properties in the Presence of Shoaling and Breaking Internal Waves over Complex Topography, a Numerical Modeling Study

Dr. Tonghun Lee, Michigan State University
Proposal Title: Ignition and Oxidation of Bio-derived Future Navy Fuels

Dr. Xiuling Li, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Proposal Title: Massively Parallel Planar III-V Nanowires and Rolled-up Tubes: Novel Platforms for High Linearity Electronics and Integrated Photonic Circuits

Dr. Sang-Hyun Oh, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Proposal Title: Metamaterials on Flexible Substrates

Dr. Jennifer L. Miksis-Olds, The Pennsylvania State University, Applied Research Laboratory
Proposal Title: Ocean Basin Impact of Ambient Noise on Marine Mammal Detectability, Distribution, and Acoustic Communication

Dr. Rajesh Rao Nadakuditi, University of Michigan
Proposal Title: Fundamental Limits and Algorithms for Quiet Signal Detection, Estimation and Classification

Dr. Cindy Regal, University of Colorado, Boulder
Proposal Title: Cavity Optomechanics for Wavelength Conversion of Optical Quantum States

Dr. Chengying Xu, University of Central Florida
Proposal Title: Multifunctional Ceramic Nanocomposites Reinforced with a High Volume Fraction of Well-dispersed and Well-aligned Carbon Nanotubes

Dr. Xiaorui Wang, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Proposal Title: End-to-End Delay Guarantees in Mission-critical Wireless Sensor Networks

Dr. David Wetz, University of Texas at Arlington
Proposal Title: Investigation of Aging Phenomena in Electrochemical Storage Devices when Cycled at Elevated Rates

Dr. Peng Yin, Harvard University
Proposal Title: Self-assembly of Large-scale Shape-controlled DNA Nano-structures

Dr. Donghyun You, Carnegie Mellon University
Proposal Title: Biologically-inspired Design of Novel Fluid-dynamic Kinematics for Ocean Propulsion

Dr. Mingjun Zhang, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Proposal Title: Energy Efficient Swimming Mechanism: An Inspiration from Micro-scale Biological Systems

For more information