Skip to main content

2010 Young Investigator Award Recipients

Dr. Hatice Altug, Boston University
Proposal Title: High-performance Nano-plasmonic Sensors for Biological Warfare Agent Detection

Dr. Seth Bank, University of Texas - Austin
Proposal Title: Metamorphic Buffer Layers Employing Metallic Nanostructures

Dr. Luca Carloni, Columbia University
Proposal Title: Methods for System-level Design and Programming of Heterogenous Embedded Multi-core Platforms

Dr. Chang-Hwan Choi, Stevens Institute
Proposal Title: Nano-engineering of Superhydrophobic Surfaces for Light Metal Anti-corrosion

Dr. Chiara Daraio, Cal Tech University
Proposal Title: An Experimental Study of Nonlinear Acoustic Lenses with Dynamically Controllable Focus

Dr. Yongpei Guan, University of Florida
Proposal Title: Multi-stage Formulations and Solution Methods for Mixed Integer Programming under Uncertainty

Dr. Dijiang Huang, Arizona State University
Proposal Title: MobiCloud: A Secure Mobile Cloud Framework for Mobile Computing and Communication

Dr. Matthias Ihme, University of Michigan
Proposal Title: Detailed Characterization of Direct and Indirect Core Noise Contributions to the Overall Aircraft Noise Emission using Large-eddy Simulation and Acoustic Theory

Dr. Ali Khademhosseini, Brigham & Women's Hospital
Proposal Title: Microengineered Self-actuating Biohybrid Robot for Naval Applications

Dr. Eric Pop, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Proposal Title: Reprogrammable Carbon Electronics

Dr. Vijay Ramani, Illinois Institute of Technology
Proposal Title: Anion Exchanage and Bipolar Membranes for Electrochemical Energy Conversion

Dr. Armin Sorooshian, University of Arizona
Proposal Title: Understanding the Nature of Marine Aerosols and their Effects in the Coupled Ocean-atmosphere System

Dr. Benjamin Taskar, University of Pennsylvania
Proposal Title: Beyond Labels; Generalized Supervision for Structured Learning

Dr. Joseph Teran, University of California, Los Angeles
Proposal Title: Manycore Accelerated Algorithms for Computational Solid and Fluid Mechanics

Dr. Fumin Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology
Proposal Title: Generic Environment Models (GEMs) for Agile Marine Autonomy

Dr. Yongjie Zhang, Carnegie Mellon University
Proposal Title: Automatic and Robust All-hexahedral Mesh Generation from B-reps witth Sharp Feature Preservation

Dr. Martin Zwierlein, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Proposal Title: Strongly Interacting Fermi Gases in Two Dimensions