Skip to main content

2023 Young Investigator Award Recipients

Information, Cyber and Spectrum Superiority Code 31

Dr. Chunhui Du, University of California, San Diego
Developing Spin Qubit Based Hybrid Magnetic Systems for Quantum Computing
Program Officer: Dr. Roberto Diener, Quantum Information Science

Dr. Gauri Joshi, Carnegie Mellon University
Data-Aware and System-Aware Algorithms for Distributed Machine Learning
Program Officer: Dr. Predrag Neskovic, Mathematical Data Science

Dr. Anirudha Majumdar, Princeton University
Robot Learning with Formal Guarantees on Out-of-Distribution Detection and Generalization
Program Officer: Dr. Behzad Kamgar-Parsi, Machine Learning, Reasoning and Intelligence

Dr. Francesco Restuccia, Northeastern University
Polymorphic Wireless Computing for Ultra-Wideband 6G Spectrum Dominance
Program Officer: Dr. Santanu Das, Communications and Networking

Dr. Xufeng Zhang, Northeastern University
Cryogenically Enabled Ultrabroadband THz System-on-a-Chip
Program Officer: Dr. Deborah Van Vechten, Cryogenically Enabled Electronics Technologies for Mixed Signal Systems

Ocean Battlespace and Expeditionary Access Code 32

Dr. Roxanne Beltran, University of California, Santa Cruz
Identification of Navy-Relevant Oceanographic Hotspots Guided by Ethical Practices and Experiential Learning
Program Officer: Dr. Michael Weise, Marine Mammals and Biology

Dr. Leah Johnson, University of Washington
Coordinated Autonomous Platform Observations to Evaluate Ocean Surface Boundary Layer Models
Program Officer: Dr. Scott Harper, Physical Oceanography

Dr. Florian Meyer, University of California, San Diego
Data Fusion for Broadband Geoacoustic Inversion
Dr. Robert Headrick, Ocean Acoustics

Dr. David Ortiz-Suslow, Naval Postgraduate School
The Impacts of Waves, Breaking, and Marine Aerosol Loading on the Marine Atmospheric Surface Layer
Program Officer: Dr. Daniel Eleuterio, Marine Meteorology and Space Weather

Dr. Johna Rudzin, Mississippi State University
Identifying Air-Sea-Wave Processes that Relate to Momentum Flux and Surface Drag Variability in Tropical Cyclones
Program Officer: Dr. Joshua Cossuth, Marine Meteorology and Space Weather

Mission Capable, Persistent and Survivable Naval Platforms Code 33

Dr. Christopher Boyce, Columbia University
Controllable Segregation of Granular Particles for Powering Undersea Vehicles
Program Officer: Ms. Maria Medeiros, Navy Undersea Research Program

Dr.  Kelsey Hatzell, Princeton University
Field-Assisted Sintering or Control over Polymorphs in Polycrystalline Lithium Ion Conducting Ceramics
Program Officers: Dr. Antti Makinen, Nano-Engineered Materials; Dr. Michele Anderson, Electrochemical Materials

Dr. Deep Jariwala, University of Pennsylvania
Excitonic Metamaterials with Electric and Magnetic Tunability
Program Officer: Dr. Mark Spector, Metamaterials

Dr. Prineha Narang, University Of California, Los Angeles
Enabling Dissipation-Less Electronics with Hydrodynamic Transport in Materials
Program Officer: Dr. Scott Coombe, Power & Energy

Dr. Jian-Xun Wang, University of Notre Dame
Physics-Preserved Neural Differentiable Computing for Predictive Modeling of Rough-Wall Turbulence
Program Officer: Dr. Yin Lu (Julie) Young, Propulsor Hydrodynamics, Hydroacoustics and Structural Dynamics

Warfighter Performance Code 34

Dr. Yong Lin Kong, University of Utah
Gastric Resident Electronics for Marine Mammals Health
Program Officer: Dr. Sandra Chapman, Marine Mammal Health

Dr. Caterina Lamuta, University of Iowa
SOFTOPUS: A Cephalopods-inspired Intelligent Soft Robot for Sensing, Manipulation, Locomotion, and Texture Modulation
Program Officer: Dr. Kristy Hentchel, Biotechnology for Naval Applications

Dr. Constantine Sideris, University of Southern California
Magnetic-Induction Based Multi-Modality Wearable Sensor Network for Continuous Activity and Health Monitoring
Program Officer: Lt. Richard G. Morgan, Basic Physiological Sciences

Dr. Cynthia Sung, University of Pennsylvania
Salp-Inspired Reconfigurable Robot Platform for Long-Term Distributed Sensing
Program Officer: Dr. Thomas McKenna, Bio-Inspired Autonomous Systems

Dr. Ye Zhao, Georgia Institute of Technology
Next-Generation Autonomous Naval Humanoid Robots: Contact-aware Planning and Decision-making for Versatile Locomotion and Navigation
Program Officer: Dr. Thomas McKenna, Human Interaction with Autonomous Systems

Aviation, Force Projection and Integrated Defense Code 35

Dr. Sayan Biswas, University of Minnesota  
Plasma-Assisted Sensing and Control of Combustion Instabilities in Lean High-Pressure Turbulent Flames
Program Officer: Dr. Steven Martens, Power, Propulsion and Thermal Management

Dr. Leila Bridgeman, Duke University
Robust, Distributed Control for Coordinating Aerial Vehicles
Program Officer: Dr. Brian Holm-Hansen, Flight Dynamics & Control

Dr. Jeffery Martell, University of Wisconsin
DNA Nanoscaffold Catalysts for Selective Synthesis of Energetic Materials
Program Officer: Dr. Chad Stoltz, Energetic Materials (EM)

Dr. Bryan Schmidt, Case Western Reserve University
Water Entry of Hypervelocity Projectiles
Program Officer: Dr. Eric Marineau, Hypersonic Aerothermodynamics, High-Speed Propulsion and Materials

Dr. Sze Zheng Yong, Northeastern University
Distributed Coordination of Autonomous Swarms with Limited or Absent Communication and Intermittent Data
Program Officer: Mr. Marc Steinberg, Science of Autonomy